Jumping through hoops

Bob and Doug McKenzie rocking Touques
Photo from Wikipedia, owned by MGM

I’ve lived in Canada for 5 years now and I’ve embraced the culture. I use specific measurements like ‘wack’ or ‘Skiff’ (Wack being lots and Skiff being just a little – often used when talking about the amount of snow on the ground.), I have to have my Timmy’s coffee in the mornings and in the winter I wear a Touque. A touque, for those who don’t know, is a knit cap and referred to as a beanie in the states. It can sometimes have ear flaps or a pom-pom on top of it.

Now, I will admit that a touque is a good idea when it’s -35 degrees outside, but it’s more than just a knit hat. It’s a fashion statement and a true piece of Canadian culture. So not only have I embraced it, but I’ve also decided to have fun with it. pook touque, awesome

So I found a great touque called the Pook Touque. The website is fantastic – it’s fun and interesting and makes it VERY VERY easy to order. In fact they even include shipping within Canada. I want to order one when I go to their webpage.  It’s a great example of a product that I will buy, mainly, because of their website and the obvious fun they have in creating and selling their product. They also make mittens, scarves, monkeys and (of course) socks.

Knowing that I have a sense of humor that makes me want to buy novelty toques, you might not be surprised that when I saw this ad on Facebook:

facebook ad, beard, touque

I had to click the link to see what these were about.

And that’s when things went horribly wrong. The website comes up, grays out and I get a pop up telling me I have to log in in order to proceed. Log in? I have to log in to browse your product?

Fab not so fab, sign in

I don’t even know if I am going to like your product, so why in the world would I tell my Facebook friends that I do, or why would I give you my email address so that I can receive updates about a product that I may or may not ever look at again?

It turns out that the website is actually a daily-deal webpage where every day they have a new product that they you about, so I understand that it’s part of their business model to get you to enroll in their program, but I can’t help but feel that they are putting the cart before the horse here. I don’t feel like enrolling and even if I did feel like enrolling, I’d probably like to see what your program is about, but instead I have to decide to sign up right then and there.

Now I know that this is a successful company. I know that there are plenty of people that sign up without a second thought. And I guess that’s great for them. But I won’t buy from them. And when you’re running a business, don’t you want everyone who is interested in buying your product?

When I used to work at a bookstore, people would always ask what type of payment I accepted. When someone asked if I took checks I’d tell them, “Of course we accepted checks, we want to make it as easy as possible to spend your money in our store.” I’d get a sale and they would get a laugh and a great book.

The point is that if your business is about making a sale, make it as easy as possible for your customers to buy.

Putting roadblocks in their way only serves to block the road.

This entry was posted in Customer Service and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Jumping through hoops

  1. LisBee says:

    Is it ironic that to like your blog I have to log in :-)

    • Brian says:

      It’s not so much as logging in as just keeping anonymous comments to a minimum. Keeps out the riff-raff.

      If I open a store, I assure you, the only ‘logging’ in that will be needed is when you actually make a purchase. I’ll even give you a discount!

  2. LisBee says:

    I do however like your blog … and totally agree!

Leave a Reply

